Henderson faculty honored for years of service

Dr. James Shuff pictured with Henderson President Glen Jones

Dr. James Shuff is pictured with Henderson President Glen Jones. Shuff is retiring after 50 years of service to Henderson.

Henderson State University honored faculty members for their years of service at a ceremony April 18 in the Garrison Center Banquet Room.

Dr. James Shuff, professor of curriculum and instruction, was honored for his 50 years of service. Shuff will retire this spring.

Catherine Leach, an associate professor of computer science, and Dr. Rick Dimond, a professor of music, were recognized for 35 years. Wanda Harris, education specialist/counselor for Student Support Services, was honored for 30 years.

Dr. Travis Langley, distinguished professor of psychology, and Wray Jones, assistant professor of chemistry and chemical hygiene officer, were honored for 25 years of service.

Recognized for 20 years of service were: Dr. Clint Atchley, professor/chair of English and director of the MLA program; Dr. Joyce Shepherd, professor/chair of human services/sociology; Dr. Duane Jackson, associate professor of mathematics; Dr. David Evans, professor of music/director of bachelor of general studies; Dr. Bill Higgins, professor/chair of music; David Stoddard, professor of art; Dr. Lynn Glover-Stanley, professor/chair of health, physical education, and recreation; and Dr. Claudia Beach, professor of theatre arts.

Honored for 15 years were: Dr. Rafael Bajarano, associate professor of psychology; Eric Bailey, instructor of English; Kristen Benjamin, assistant professor of biology; Dr. Ingo Schranz, professor of chemistry; and Dr. Patricia Weaver, professor of educational leadership.

Ten-year honorees were: Meredith Wright, instructor of mathematics; Kyounghwa Molinari, instructor of music/staff accompanist; Dr. Terry Bateman, assistant professor of chemistry/director of research; Leah Hasley, instructor of marketing; Dr. Connie Phelps, chair and associate professor of family & consumer sciences; Teresa Holsclaw, instructor of advanced instructional studies; and Dr. Jana Jones, assistant professor of communication & theatre arts.

Honored for five years were: Dr. Emilie Beltzer, assistant professor of psychology; Melanie Angell, assistant professor of English and teacher education liason; Dr. Jennifer Dawes, professor of English; Dr. Nydia Jeffers, assistant professor of Spanish; Dr. Margarita Peraza-Rugeley, assistant professor of Spanish; Dr. Mark Mosser, assistant professor of physical education, wellness & leisure; Jennifer Amox, assistant professor of music; Dr. Bradley Rowland, associate professor of chemistry; Dr. David Rodriguez, assistant professor of finance; Dr. Jennifer Zarzosa, assistant professor of marketing; Margo Duvall, assistant professor of photography; Kasten Searles, assistant professor of graphic art & media design; Dr. Matthew Sutherlin, associate dean of Teachers College, Henderson, and associate professor of curriculum & instruction; Torri Ellison, instructor of communication; and Darrel Farmer, assistant professor of communications and debate coach.

In addition to Shuff’s retirement, Janice O’Donnell is retiring after 31 years of service, and Teresa Holsclaw after 10 years.