Staff honored for years of service

Kathy ReynoldsStaff employees at Henderson State University were honored for years of service during a luncheon and awards ceremony May 14.

Cathy Reynolds, nursing office coordinator, was honored for 45 years of service to Henderson. Tanya Dixon, Henderson Foundation administrator, was honored for 35 years of service, and Becky Hughes, library technician for academic support, was recognized for 30 years.

Honored for 25 years were Vikita Hardwrick, education specialist/counselor for Student Support Services, and Karen Hollis, administrative specialist for Teachers College, Henderson.

Twenty-year honorees were: Scott Freeman, director of student accounts; Stephanie Loy, payroll technician; Wrenette Tedder, director of assessment; and Ty Woodson, lead business analyst for IT Services.

Receiving awards for 15 years of service were: Penny Kinder, human resources coordinator; Scott Maxfield, head football coach; and Shawna McKenzie, assistant director of Veterans Upward Bound.

Recognized for 10 years were: Romykia Nelson, administrative specialist for ERZ; Blake Smith, international student advisor; and Dr. Lewis Shepherd Jr., executive director of the Center for Economic Development and Community Engagement.

For five years of service, the following staff were recognized: Dr. Stephen Adkison, provost and vice president for academic affairs; Karen Ashcraft, administrative specialist for counselor education; Jacob Bland, director of IT infrastructure; Reo Cummings, education specialist/counselor for Student Support Services; Chelsea Goza, assistant director, Center for Student Excellence; Christina Jones, director of financial aid; Shawn Jones, athletic director; Adam Moore, aviation technician; Paige Morrow, fiscal support specialist; Sheri Phillips, Upward Bound academic advisor; Patricia Sindelar, administrative specialist for Small Business Technology Development Center; Lauren Smith, accountant for business office.

Retirees who were also recognized, include: Becky Hughes, Pam Shuffield, Pat Helms, and Randy McCauley.

Nine staff members completed degrees while serving Henderson, including Ken Angell, Amber Bailey, Ashley Childs, Mackenzie Echols, Tyler Hill, Telvin James, Victoria Mirocke, Eric Mitchner, and Kelly Stewart.

The Standout Support Staff Award for Customer Services was presented to Lisa Ayres; Brenda Hagerich received the Staff Award for Student Success; Beverly Quillin accepted the Staff Award for Diversity and Inclusion; and the President’s Staff Award of Excellence was presented to Chanda Hooten.