## **Faculty Senate Minutes**

## Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Senators present: Kasten Searles, Richard Miller, Franc Hudspeth, Jana Jones, Don Benton (for Pat Weaver), Suzanne Tartamella, Dana Horn, Suzanne Tartamella (for Greg Gibson), Maggie Tudor, Lea Ann Alexander, Debra Coventry, Jamie Lipton (for Laura Storm), Ladda Thiamwong, Dever Norman, Emilie Beltzer, Alan Blaylock, Megan Hickerson, Joyce Shepherd, Lynn Glover-Stanley (for Victor Claar), Michael Taylor, Shannon Clardy, David Bateman, Vincent Dunlap, TaLisha Givan, Meredith Wright, Lisa Massey

Senators absent: Kristen Benjamin, Ingo Schranz, Charlotte Wright

- 1. Call to order: President Lea Ann Alexander at 3:16 p.m.
- 2. Election of Officers
  - a. President Elect- nominated and unanimously elected Megan Hickerson
  - b. Secretary-volunteered and unanimously elected TaLisha Givan
  - c. Representative to the Board of Trustees volunteered and unanimously elected Franc Hudspeth
  - d. Webmaster-Elect-nominated and unanimously elected David Bateman
  - e. Representative to the Graduate Council volunteered and unanimously elected Don Benton
  - f. Representative to the Staff Senate volunteered and unanimously elected Dever Norman
  - g. Parliamentarian-appointed by President Alexander-Debra Coventry
  - h. Constitutional election results from the December meeting are as follows: Issue #1 – Passed 63-2

Changes to the Faculty Senate Constitution, Article VIII:

1. Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate shall consist of the Executive Committee, Procedures Committee, Finance Committee, Academics Committee, *Operations and Handbook Committee*, and *the Buildings and Grounds Committee*.

Issue #2 – Passed 63-2

Changes to Faculty Senate By-Laws, Section B, Part V (regarding the Operations Committee):

- V. Operations and Handbook Committee
- A. Constitutional Provisions and Composition
  - 1. The Operations and Handbook Committee is a permanent (standing) committee of the Faculty Senate.

Changes to Faculty Senate By-Laws, Section B, Part III (regarding the Buildings and Grounds Committee):

- III. Buildings and Grounds Committee
- A Constitutional Provisions and Composition
  - 1. The Buildings and Grounds Committee is a permanent (standing) committee of the Faculty Senate.
- 3. New Business
  - A. Committee Membership Preferences
    - 1. Academics Committee
      - a. Ingo Schranz-Acting Chair
      - b. Emilie Beltzer
      - c. Greg Gibson
      - d. Franc Hudspeth
      - e. Charlotte Wright
    - 2. Buildings and Grounds
      - a. Kasten Searles-Acting Chair
      - b. Laura Storm
      - c. Dever Norman
      - d. Shannon Clardy
    - 3. Finance Committee
      - a. Alan Blaylock-Acting Chair
      - b. Jana Jones
      - c. Lisa Massey
      - d. Don Benton
      - e. Victor Claar
    - 4. Operations and Handbook Committee
      - a. Dana Horn-Acting Chair
      - b. Meredith Wright
      - c. Joyce Shepherd
      - d. Michael Taylor
    - 5. Procedures Committee
      - a. Kristen Benjamin-Acting Chair
      - b. Richard Miller
      - c. Vince Dunlap
      - d. Ladda Thiamwong
      - e. Margaret Tudor Wright
      - f. David Bateman
  - B. Issues for 2016
    - 1. Faculty compensation
    - 2. Online proctoring software for Academics Committee considerations

- 3. Plagiarism Policy referred to Academics Committee for considerations
- 4. Procedure on promotion from Instructor to Assistant Professor referred to Operations and Handbook Committee for consideration as part of an overall examination of the Faculty Handbook for discrepancies
- 4. Next regularly scheduled meeting will be Wednesday, February 3<sup>rd</sup>, 2016.
- 5. Meeting was adjourned at 3:41 p.m.